Text size

Mar 2 2009

Dart Award Winner

2004 Dart Award Final Judges

The final judges for the 2004 Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma.

David T. Cullen is a free-lance journalist. He has contributed work to The New York Times, National Public Radio and the online publications Salon.com and Slate.com. Cullen covered the school shootings in Littleton, Colorado, as well as the trials of the murderers of Matthew Shepard in Laramie, Wyoming. A former lieutenant in the U.S. Army, he taught creative writing at the University of Colorado in the mid-1990s, and was a Dart Fellow in 2002. Cullen is the recipient of a GLAAD Media Award, a Society of Professional Journalists Award and several Best of Salon Awards.

Michelle Guido is the Women’s Issues reporter on the Race and Demographics team at the San Jose Mercury News. In her 14 years at the paper, she has covered education, city and county government, police, courts and youth issues. She spent 1999 reporting on domestic violence, and revisited the issue in 2002 with a first-person piece after her friend, Mercury News photographer Luci Williams Houston, was murdered by her husband. Guido has taught journalism classes at San Francisco State University and helps run Mosaic, a summer urban journalism program for minority high school students. Her national awards include a 2002 Associated Press News Executives Council Award for “A Victim’s Hidden Struggle”; an EdPress National Award for Excellence for both features and breaking news in 1992; and a (team) Pulitzer Prize for spot news coverage of the 1989 Loma Prieta Earthquake.

Saed Hindash is a photojournalist at the Star-Ledger, New Jersey’s largest newspaper. In 2002 he won the Dart Award, along with reporter Matt Reilly, for a story about a Siberian orphan who was beaten and froze to death in the custody of his adoptive parents in central New Jersey. Before joining the Star-Ledger, Hindash worked for newspapers in Cincinnati, Pittsburgh, and in Everett, WA.

Lori S. Robinson is the author of I Will Survive: The African-American Guide to Healing from Sexual Assault and Abuse (2003). She is a freelance journalist whose work has appeared in the Washington Post, Essence, The Crisis and The Source, among other publications. Robinson lectures and conducts workshops around the country on sexual violence. She recently taught media at Universidad San Francisco de Quito in Ecuador. A former editor at Emerge: Black America’s Newsmagazine, her honors include National Association of Black Journalists awards, Unity Award in Media prizes, and the International Black Women’s Congress Inspirational Award. Robinson earned a master’s degree in journalism from New York University in 1994.

Barbara Rothbaum is president-elect of the International Society of Traumatic Stress Studies (ISTSS) and associate editor of The Journal of Traumatic Stress. She is currently a tenured associate professor in psychiatry at the Emory School of Medicine in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and director of the Trauma and Anxiety Recovery Program at Emory. She has won both state and national awards for her research. She writes scientific papers and chapters and has published two books on the treatment of PTSD. She received the Diplomate in Behavioral Psychology from the American Board of Professional Psychology. Dr. Rothbaum is also a pioneer in the application of virtual reality to the treatment of psychological disorders.

Dart Center Events

All calendar dates »

Request Publications