Fellows Scoop Up Pulitzers

Two Dart Center Ochberg Fellows are among this year's Pulitzer Prize winners just announced by our colleagues at the Columbia School of Journalism.

David Wood of the Huffington Post, a Dart Center Ochberg Fellow in 2001, won this year's Pulitzer in national reporter for his persistent coverage of severely wounded veterans of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. And Susan Snyder, a Fellow in 2007 and the longtime education reporter for the Philadlephia Inquirer, was part of an Inquirer team awarded the Pulitzer in public service for an extraordinary inquiry into the roots and consequences of violence in Philadelphia public schools.

In addition, 2008 Fellow John Moore of Getty Images was named a finalist in breaking news photography as part of a team covering the Arab Spring uprising, along with Getty photographers Peter McDiarmid and the late Chris Hondros.

The Dart Center Ochberg Fellowship is a unique annual seminar program for mid-career journalists in all media who want to deepen their knowledge of emotional trauma and improve coverage of violence, conflict and tragedy. Since 1999, more than 100 journalists have been named Ochberg Fellows.