Legacy of Love and Pain

David Clohessy is the national director of the Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests (SNAP), the nation’s largest and most active support group for men and women victimized by clergy. His professional background includes five years as communications director for a suburban St. Louis school district, a year as deputy press secretary for the mayor of St. Louis, and nearly a decade working as a community organizer. With SNAP, Clohessy has set up local support groups in more than 15 cities, and was one of four victims to address the entire body of America’s bishops last summer at their historic meeting in Dallas. This summer he will be named “Outstanding Alumni” by Drury University in Springfield, Missouri.

Kathryn Eastburn is contributing editor of The Colorado Springs Independent, where she served as editor until 2001. Eastburn’s feature writing focuses on mental health, child, family and environmental issues. She also writes an award-winning weekly column, “Domestic Bliss.” In 2000 and 2001, Eastburn garnered first place awards in feature writing from the national Education Writers Association for her stories on teenage suicide and bullying, and on innovative teaching at an under-performing elementary school. She received a PASS Award from the National Council on Crime and Delinquency in 2000. In 2001 she was awarded two fellowships, one from the University of Maryland School of Journalism Center on Child and Family Policy Issues, and the other from the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma. Eastburn holds a bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Hawaii.

Jane Hansen is a reporter for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. She has twice been a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize: in 1990 for her series on the failures of Georgia’s child welfare system, and in 1988 for a series on the resegregation of the nation’s schools. In her 20 years at the newspaper, Hansen’s awards include a National Headline Award for the nation’s top local interest column, a Society of Professional Journalists Green Eyeshade Award, a Selden Ring Award for investigative reporting and the national Clarion Award for best newspaper feature. In 2002, she won the national James M. Cox Award for “Selling Atlanta’s Children,” a series about child prostitution. The series also earned Hansen the AP’s first place award for public service. The National Foundation of Women Legislators has honored her with a Media Award of Excellence at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. Before becoming a reporter, Hansen worked on the White House staff under President Jimmy Carter. She received her masters in journalism from Columbia University.

Paula Schnurr is president elect of the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies (ISTSS). She is also deputy to the executive director of the Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder and research professor of psychiatry at Dartmouth Medical School. She edits the PTSD Research Quarterly and is the deputy editor of the Journal of Traumatic Stress. Since joining the National Center for PTSD in 1989, Schnurr has conducted a series of studies on risk factors for PTSD and on the relationship between PTSD and physical health. She and Dr. Friedman are currently conducting a study to evaluate prolonged exposure as a treatment for PTSD in female veterans and active duty personnel. Schnurr received her Ph.D. in experimental psychology at Dartmouth College in 1984 and then completed a post-doctoral fellowship in the Department of Psychiatry at Dartmouth Medical School.

Clarence Williams is a staff photographer for The Los Angeles Times. In 1998 he received a Pulitzer Prize for “Orphans of Addiction,” a series documenting the plight of children whose parents are addicted to drugs. Other awards include Times Mirror Journalist of the Year, the Robert F. Kennedy Award for domestic journalism and Journalist of the Year from the National Association of Black Journalists. Williams has lectured and taught at a variety of workshops and colleges. He is a native of Philadelphia and a graduate of Temple University.